Capstone Project

At Neumont University, we are required to do a Capstone Project that challenges us as developers and to show how far we have come in our two years at the school. This quarter, I will be doing mine, and I will post updates about challenges I met, and what I did to solve them.

With that said, let’s have a quick overlook of what my project is.

The most important part about my project is that it will be a game, so it being a fun experience to play is, of course, crucial. The game will showcase the bulk of my project: Group AI. While not a shooter or other action game, there are many areas in games that would benefit from having a strong group AI. My game will be a strategy game, with some god game-like elements.

The player will be in charge of a group of workers attempting to build a spacecraft to leave their planet. However, there are many resources needed to make a space ship, with money, of course, being the biggest one. The player will lead the workers into finding treasures on an unexplored, randomly-generated map. Of course, if it was as simple as walking into a meadow and finding a lost diamond mine, it wouldn’t be much of a game. For this reason, various types of obstacles will be placed on the map, requiring the workers to come up with different solutions in order to reach their goals.

I’ll make an update at the end of each week to show what progress I have made so far.

About Karl Thompson

I am a game developer who has worked in C++, Unity3D, and C#. I am also a software developer, with work done in Java and C#.

Leave a comment